PROCEEDINGS Executive Body meeting 2008 IAP, Orissa State Branch.

Venue: Biju Pattanaik Film & TV Institute, Cuttack Date: 06.12.08, Time – 3:00 pm to 4:00 pm

The year ending Executive Body meeting of IAP Orissa State Branch was held under the chairmanship of Dr. S. S. Mohapatra, President, IAP Orissa State Branch on 6.12.2008 at Biju Pattanaik Film & TV Institute, Cuttack (State Pedicon 2008 conference site). The following members were present-

- 1. President Dr. S. S. Mohapatra,
- 2. President Elect. Dr. Gopabandhu Nanda
- 3. Imm. Past President Dr. IR Agarwalla
- 4. Secretary- Dr. Pitabas Rautray
- 5. Jt. Secretary- Dr. Arabinda Mohanty
- 6. Org. Secretary Dr. Niranjan Mohanty
- 7. Treasurer- Dr. Prasant Kumar Saboth

Executive Board Member (IAP Orissa):

- 8. North Zone- Dr. N.K. Pradhan
- 9. South Zone- Dr. Sunil Kumar Agarwalla
- 10. West Zone- Dr. R.N. Satpathy
- 11. Central Zone- Dr. Sebaranjan Biswal
- 12. EB Member, IAP Central Dr. B.K. Bhuyan
- 13. Editor OJP Dr. Prakash Ch. Panda

Decisions & Resolutions:

1. Welcome address:

The president thanked all members for their support and co-operation during last year and expressed his satisfaction regarding the academic activities like GRAM-SAT Programme", Workshops, Additional webpage on research and publication of Pediatricians of Orissa and parent education cell. He offered special thanks to Dr. G. B. Nanda, for his co-operation and help.

2. Awards:

The following awards and Gold medals were decided to be given in the inauguration meeting today.

- a. Highest mark in PG entrance Examination (Pediatrics)
 - Dr. Bishnupriya Sahoo
- b. Gold medals for highest mark in undergraduate Pediatrcs
 - i. SCB Medical College, CTC Dr. Debashree Priyadarshani.
 - ii. VSS Medical College, Burla Dr. Begum Barkha.
 - iii. MKCG Medical College, Berhampur Dr. Rashmita Sahoo, Dr. Santosh Ku. Dash, Dr. Chinmaya Dash & Dr. Priyanka Ghosh.

As there are 4 students from MKCG Medical college , Berhampur securing same marks in Pediatrics, the EB decided to hand over only certificates to the candidates and the Gold medals will be send to them in due course.

Also the EB took the resolution that if same cases (tie in marks) will come in subsequent years then the Gold medal for that University will be decided by following criteria.

i. Highest mark in Pediatrics – if tie,

ii. Highest total mark in final MBBS

3. Fixation of Judges for Award papers:

Prof. Niranjan Mohanty suggested the names of the judges and his suggestion was unanimously accepted.

4. Selection of Scientific Committee & EB Members for IAP East Zone:

The Candidates selected in Last IAP East Zone GB Meeting at Kolkata were accepted for 2009.

They are –

a. Scientific committee member – Prof. (Dr.) Duryodhan Samal

b. EB members for IAP East Zone – Dr. Arakhita Swain, Dr. Biswajit Mishra

Further it was decided, from next year onwards the members will be nominated by the State IAP and informed to East Zone.

5. Editor of OJP:

Dr. P. Panda was decided to continue as Editor OJP. He was advised to bring out the journal regularly. Dr. Panda in turn requested for regular payment to facilitate the publication.

6. Election Officer 2009:

It was decided that once nominated and approved in GB the election officer will continue for

3 years. Prof. I. R. Agarwal was continued as Election Officer for 2009-10.

7. 30th State IAP conference:

No suggestion came and it was decided to put the matter in GB.

8. Other important decisions:

- a) EB detected some important omissions / mistakes in conference arrangements & took the resolution
 - As the annual conference is the most important & prestigious function of IAP Orissa State Branch the invitation to the delegates for inaugural function shall be from State President, Secretary, Org. Chairman & Org. Secretary.
 - ii. The scientific committee for the conference will consist of State President & State President Elect., Secretary, Org. Secretary, scientific committee Chairman.
- b) The finance year ending will be the end of the financial year i.e. 31st March as the State Branch is independently registered & having PAN number.
- c) The conference rules and regulations must be in the line of Central IAP. Dr. G. B. Nanda and Dr. A. B. Nayak were requested to complete the work.
- d) The Organizing Committee will provide single free accommodation for office bearers & EB Members and provide an office room for State IAP in State Pedicon.
- e) Election Officer will work independently and will get all financial assistance from State IAP.

Bixapae Donkroy

Dr. Pitabas Rautray Secretary, IAP Orissa State Branch