home-> IAP Orissa State Branch -> Introduction

      Many enthusiastic members of IAP in 1980 provided the stimulus to create a state chapter. By that time undivided Assam had a state branch which got dissolved and Orissa is the 1st East Zone State to have a Branch of lAP. The formal meeting to create a Branch was held at Circuit House of Cuttack on 10th May, 1980. The then Editor of Samaj Sri Radhanath Rath presided over the meeting and blessed the organization to be formed. The meeting was attended by many pediatricians of the state. Many of them were members and some were not bonafied members of lAP at that time. Except Dr.Gopal Chandra Das, who is the founder life member of Indian Academy of Pediatrics others are ordinary members. As the list of ordinary members are not maintained in Central office it is difficult to get the names of founder members of Orissa State Branch authentically. However, the Pediatricians present in the meeting were Dr. G.C.Das, Dr. Sunil Kumar Sen, Dr. Sangram Keshari Behera, Dr. Radhasyam Kar, Dr. Dasarathi Dash, Dr. Santosh Kumar Giri, Dr. Rabikumar Satapathy Dr. AC. Parija, Dr. Mohini Mohan Das, Dr. Govinda Chandra Samal, Dr. S. saifullah (pediatric surgeon), Dr. Aswini Mohanty and Dr. Gadadhar Sarangi. Some of the non Pediatricians whose contribution needs worth to be mentioned are Dr. AK. Bardhan and Dr. Jagdish Acharya.

Home   l   About IAP   l   Office Bearers   l   Members   l   Awards   l   Events   l   Publications   l   Sitemap  l   Contact Us
Copyright 2009 Indian Academy of Pediatrics. All rights reserved.